The Council of Pakistan Newspaper Editors (CPNE) is vibrant, dynamic and sole representative body of the editors community of Pakistan. It has been founded in 1957 by the leading editors of the print media of the country to serve the cause of media freedom, freedom of expression and others human rights. Since its foundation it has a great history of struggle for the press freedom and freedom of expression, right to information and people right to know. It has also organized a great number of conferences, workshops, trainings, and interactive sessions for the capacity building of the editors and journalists community as well as for playing its due role for the sake of democracy, press freedom and other civil liberties in the country.

The CPNE has credentials as a recognized and sole representative organization of editors’ community, is recognized by the government as well as civil society of the country. The Council of Pakistan Newspapers Editors has actively participated in consultations for a number of legislation such as freedom of expression, right to know and access to information etc. in Pakistan.

An important aspect of the CPNE’s working, along with others, is the condemnation of violence and sectarianism in the country. In that framework it has also condemned the elements responsible for the arson attack on newspapers and murderous attacks on pressmen and editors. It has strongly denounced the failure of law enforcing agencies to apprehend the culprits responsible for attacks on newspapers and pressmen. It has also called upon all the elected representatives, regardless of their party affiliations, to declare their commitment to Press freedom.

Overall the CPNE as a professional body of newspaper editors has done what it could in the past – more than four decades of its working as the representative organization of newspaper editors of the country.


1 Mr. Zia Shahid
President (CPNE)
Chief Editor, Daily Khabrain, Lahore
2 Mr. Shaheen Qureshi
Senior Vice President
Editor, Daily Jang, Karachi
3 Mr. Aamer Mahmood
Vice President (Sindh)
Chief Editor, Monthly Kiran Digest
4 Mr. Rahmat Ali Raazi
Vice President (Punjab)
Chief Editor, Taqat Daily, Lahore
5 Mr. Mehtab Khan
Vice President (Islamabad)
Chief Editor, Daily Ausaf, Islamabad
6 Tahir Farooq
Vice President (K.P.K)
Editor, Daily Ittehad, Peshawar
7 Mr. Anwar Sajidi
Vice President (Balochistan)
Chief Editor, Daily Intikhab, Quetta
8 Mr. Aijaz-ul-Haq
Secretary General
Editor, Daily Express, Karachi
9 Syed Haroon Shah
Joint Secretary
Editor, Daily Wahdat, Peshawar
10  Mr. Ghulam Nabi Chandio
Finance Secretary
Chief Editor, Daily Pak, Karachi
11 Kazim Khan
Information Secretary
Editor, Daily Times, Lahore